BOHUNTER09 12-Aug-23
goyt 12-Aug-23
fuzzy 12-Aug-23
drycreek 12-Aug-23
live2hunt88 12-Aug-23
goyt 12-Aug-23
fuzzy 12-Aug-23

Date:12-Aug-23

I’m new to the food plot game. I’ve got about a 1 acre field that I planted clover and winter wheat in last summer. I’m in NE Oklahoma and we had a really dry summer, food plot did decent but not well. I had a friend disc the ground for me and I fertilized and seeded after but we didn’t get rain for almost a month after doing all of that. Due to work and a Wyoming antelope hunt I didn’t have much time to wait for the right conditions so I just did what I could and hoped it would work.

This year I sprayed for weeds, mowed the grass and waited a couple weeks before working the ground. We used his tiller attachment this year and really broke the ground up good. Fertilized per soil test results and I planted green patch plus. We’ve had 3” of rain since planting sunday and the plot is starting out good.

I’ve had people tell me I need to spray the foliage in about a month to boost the plot well, I’ve had others tell me to just throw down 100lbs of triple 13 in a few weeks before a rain, and then others said to just let the rain do it’s thing and leave it be.

Im just curious what recommendations you guys have, any help or tips is greatly appreciated

I go with one and done on fall plots. Fertilizer and plant it. Nothing after that.

By: goyt

I think that you are good and need to do nothing more than what you have already done. Set your stands and cameras and stay away. Staying out of the area now becomes the most important thing.

By: fuzzy