Ollie 16-Apr-19
Treefarm 16-Apr-19
Treefarm 17-Apr-19
BullBuster 17-Apr-19
blue spot 17-Apr-19
Indianaforester 18-Apr-19
Indianaforester 16-Jun-19

Date:15-Apr-19

My sons planted 150 seedling white oak and various pines around the perimeter of a couple of my hay fields. Can I spray Clem on them to keep the weeds down? Don't really want to mow to keep them from getting choked out.

Conifers are quite tolerant roundup but I think I would spray around the trees not over them. The oaks you will definitely have to spray around. I have sprayed roundup around thousands of trees with good results as long as you don't hit to many leaves. It is imperative ,with small trees, to spray while the weeds are shorter than the trees. It's ok to hit the trunk with spray but not the leaves.

I see on that on the clethodin label that conifer and dedacious are tolerant. I have no experience using it with trees and it only kills grass and leaves the broadleaves.

When we planted trees we would till between the rows and hand wand spray roundup in the row between the trees. We also sprayed and incorporated treflan between the rows to get the grass out.

The key is to not let the weeds get away from you for the first few years. You have to be diligent or the weeds will overwhelm the trees.

Corn bore's embedded Photo

Corn bore's embedded Photo

By: cath8r

I was told by a local farmer that the 'safe' herbicides wouldn't really kill conifer trees but stunt the growth...

I'd be careful on any newly planted trees.....they are pretty sensitive their first year or two. I wouldn't spray anything right on them. Hate to go through all of that work to kill them.

Feel free to spray Gly, but keep at least 1 ft away and don't spray on windy days. Ask me how I know.

Date:16-Apr-19

Thanks guys!

I'd certainly error to the side of caution on newly planted trees.

Mark

Clethodim doesn't control weeds. The better choice would have been to spray with the right chemical with residual prior to planting.