Mad Trapper 14-Feb-19
ironmike 14-Feb-19
ironmike 26-Feb-19
WV Mountaineer 26-Feb-19
ironmike 26-Feb-19
Dennis Razza 26-Feb-19
LKH 26-Feb-19

Date:13-Feb-19

My side by side has created deep ruts on the trails to my plots. I'm an idiot for running those trails in the winter and when it's wet, but that's water under the bridge. Any suggestions for repairing those other than paying a fortune to bring in stones? I have a tractor with a bucket if that's useful. Because the trails are in the woods, I don't have perpendicular access to the ruts. I'm new to this, and appreciate any advice.

Tip the bucket down, lower to the depth you want, and back up.

By: Bake

Box blade on the tractor will do the trick. We fixed some pretty heavy tractor ruts with box blade at times

If there’s elevation there, then a dozer to drain the road is the answer. If not, your bucket loaded with shale is the next best thing. However, leaving the water in the ruts will see maintinence nessecary forever. So, be smart when you use it. Wet equals more sinking if you use it.

Thanks guys. The trails aren't wide enough to get a dozer in, so I guess I need a box blade.

Do I need a box blade with the cutters, etc., or will a blade itself do?

By: Hans 1

A small box blade and loader should do the trick. Teeth or scarifiers would help.if the area is small in length you could fill with dirt/clay to bring up the grade. Or if is real wet and you need this trail cut small 6-8 inch trees and lay perpendicular to the trail cover this with landscape fabric or old carpet and then dirt on top of that many areas were logged this way in the old days.

If you do not grind up those ruts they will never go away. As mentioned....drainage and maintenance is the key. Driving on muddy trails is just creating work for yourself and possibly big $$$$ to fix.

cut and lay some small green logs down to stabilize your lowest areas....

Mark

thanks guys

By: Buff