Hunter8 11-Dec-18
drycreek 11-Dec-18
kyrob 11-Dec-18
Hunter8 12-Dec-18
drycreek 12-Dec-18
kyrob 12-Dec-18
Hunter8 13-Dec-18

Date:06-Dec-18

I am in need of help. I want to plant clover plots in KY. Our current PH (we have 3 plots) is between 6.5-7 (tested by whitetail institute). I have been researching a lot about how to do clover plots. There is so many discussions about how to and what to mix with and when to plant. The problem is, I am a novice and don't always understand the high level discussions. Can someone please help elaborate a step by step process? From what I gather fall is best to plan, mixed with wheat or cereal rye (not sure exactly how to do that). When to spray, mow, etc. We have been doing plots there for 2 years. Soybeans, radishes, turnips, honey hole. All grew really well. Problem is a have small plots, 1 acre and 2x .5 acre plots. I really need to understand weed control. This is biggest problem. Tons of weeds. We tried spraying and couldn't stop them (they have taken over the plots). We are 5 hours from this property so we need something easier to maintain because we aren't around enough to watch it. Thanks in advance. Also if your from Greenup County area, maybe some advice on what to plant. Deer crush these plots, but always at night and these are secluded areas.

I am very close to Greenup Co. I think your problem is simply you are too far away to maintain your plots. Clover is great. You can frost seed it and you can have a great stand of clover this spring but it will need mowed to control weeds. I am thinking your best bet is to locate somebody local to tend to your plots.

Can you explain frost seeding? Did you have a terrible year for deer? We didn't see much and seemed like herd is almost non existent. Numbers were good last year and not much was killed. Just wondered what your thoughts were.