Bow Crazy 15-Jul-15
MDcrazyman 15-Jul-15
sureshot 15-Jul-15
Tndeer 15-Jul-15
dm/wolfskin 15-Jul-15

By: Tndeer
Date:13-Jul-15

Tndeer's embedded Photo

I've been managing our farm for four years. I just pulled cards for the first time this year and got a couple nice ones (at least for my farm). These may be the two biggest I have seen since I started managing the place. The other really nice surprise was the number of young 8 and 10 points that I got on camera.

Hopefully they will put a couple more inches on in the coming weeks.

BTW, does anyone know when antlers stop growing? I realize it differs from one deer to the next and with location but it seems to me that these deer still have time to put on some length. I think in TN velvet comes off in early September.

Tndeer's embedded Photo

sorry for the crappy photo quality

Nice deer, very nice deer! I think antlers grow until the velvet is shed. I could be wrong, but I'm at least close. For us here in Wisconsin that's end of August, early September.

What have you been doing to manage the deer on your property for the last two years? QDM? Habitat management? What? Would love to hear what you are doing. BC

Definitely shooters for me. Antlers will stop a couple growing weeks before they strip. They will get harder during this time. I once shot a couple Sitka blacktails on Kodiak the first week of August and the bone was still spongy. Stop had a couple weeks to harden up