Junior 09-Jun-18
soinxojDRsjt2015 15-Jun-18
Grubby 24-Jul-18
t-roy 24-Jul-18
Habitat for Wildlife 24-Jul-18
Grubby 24-Jul-18

By: Grubby
Date:04-Jun-18

6” or 12” rows? My drill has half the holes blocked, I think I will be better off with 6”..... what do you think?

By: t-roy
Date:04-Jun-18

What is your population setting? Are you planning on spraying? I have zero experience with drills, but have planted in between the rows with my 30” planter (basically 15” rows). It helped some with weed issues but made it a bit more difficult to spray.

By: Junior
Date:05-Jun-18

What group, variety...group 4? Planting now, Id go 6" around 140,000 population. The later you plant, the more population and wider the row. Planting at July 1, Id be at 12" rows and 200,000 population.

By: grubby

I'm picking up seed today, I haven't used this new to me drill, it's a 620 international. It was last used for beans and we dumped some in and dragged it across the yard to verify everything was working. this is turning into a serious farming operation.

Do both and see which one you like best for future drilling.

A lot of guys are drilling beans 7" rows now in my area. They canopy the ground faster and a lot of times you can get away with just one application of herbicide.

Junior, Our farmer does 7" rows as well, for what you stated and also that bean varieties vary greatly from tall ones to bush type etc. I believe they use taller varieties with closer spacing?

I have always broadcasted as a drill is too expensive for me; however, we have good results doing it this way.

Good luck OP.

What works best for me is a hybrid of both 7.5 inch and 15 inch rows. My VanBrundt drill has 12 openings 7.5 inches apart. If the openings are numbered from 1 to 12, I plug holes 3, 4, 9 & 10. Those are the openings that my tractor tires drive on. My experience has been that the tires compact the ground (sandy loam) a few inches as I am driving along drilling the beans.