Michael Schwister 06-Jun-17
evilarrows of famine 06-Jun-17
Michael Schwister 07-Jun-17
Michael Schwister 17-May-18
RIT 17-May-18
loprofile 17-May-18

Date:21-May-17
evilarrows of famine's Supporting Link

Hey guys, I've never farmed an I'm very new to food plots. I picked up this planter in hopes for improving late season bowhunting at my hunting spot. I'd like to use it for corn and soybeans, starting at small (1/3 - 1/2 acre) plots, maybe push an acre if I can swing it. I'll probably have a ton of questions but for now I'd like to cover the planter itself.

photo IMG_20170520_164256.jpg

photo IMG_20170520_164315.jpg

evilarrows of famine's Supporting Link

sorry, been awhile since I used this format. having some picture issues - unecessarry posts can be deleted

Anyways, looking for some input.

Should I convert this to 3 point hitch? Make 2 two row planters & sell one? Make a 3 row and keep the other for parts? Would this work as is for no-till or would I need to add row cleaners?

I'll be pulling this with my dad's JD 4020, I see no need to by my own tractor at this point. Most of the ground is old strip mine ground that will probably need some soil building. I'm in the market for a used disc now but wondering if I can get by this year borrowing or without one.

This is my situation now and some random info. I'll post more questions as I think of them and give more details if I left them out. I guess this is just to get the ball rolling. I feel a little overwhelmed jumping in but gotta start somewhere!

By: t-roy

Your links aren't coming up for me. One word of caution. Get out while you still can! Food plots are like crack, probably even more addictive;-)