Bowhuntingboy 27-Apr-17
Bowhuntingboy 27-Apr-17
Bowhuntingboy 27-Apr-17
CAS_HNTR 27-Apr-17
Bowhuntingboy 27-Apr-17
satguy 29-Apr-17

Date:26-Apr-17

MNdeerslayer's MOBILE embedded Photo

I've got a 90 acre parcel in central Minnesota. This property has a 20 acre section that is swamp that holds water year around most years, there is an acre or two island in the swamp that is accessible only dry years. It also has a hay field which is also about 20 acres. The remainder of the property is long grass and groups of mature trees. This is a decent size of land but a chunk of it is not usable due to it being a swamp. I manage to get a couple deer a year but nothing too big. I'd really like to add some cover to the hay field. I would also like to add some sources of food being the only food sources are nearby corn fields.

I am new to improving land for wildlife and would like some suggestions, open to anything.

You'll get some great advice and then some not so great advice on here. Answer this question: Do the deer bed on the island? If so, I would begin thinking of ways to make this a thick, nasty patch that was a sanctuary for them. How deep is the swamp? If it's a couple of feet, it provides multiple escape routes and very desirable bedding.

Make it so they never have to leave

1. Safety, good bedding that they feel safe in, as stated above the island sounds perfect

2. Feed, hay field sounds perfect

3. water, swamp

4. Does, the bucks need does.

sounds like you have what you want you just need to improve. A great situation you don't need to create anything just improve it. the experts will be along and tell us how to do that soon.

oz

By: r-man

you need timber , cover ,

By: t-roy

What does the hay field consist of? Just grass, alfalfa, or mixture of something else. If just grass, there isn't a ton of nutritional benefits there for the deer. Is the hay being harvested? Do you you have access to, or know someone that has any equipment to put in any food plots?