BuffaloCnty 18-Jan-16
Alpinehunter 18-Jan-16
BTM 18-Jan-16
lawdy 18-Jan-16
XMan 18-Jan-16
william152016 24-Feb-16
william152016 24-Feb-16

Date:09-Jan-16

Looking for a outfitted late season Muzzleloader hunt for my son and I. I know this is bowsite but this crosses over to archery hunts also. The last outfitted hunt I was on was in 1991 and you never seen penalties for bucks under the "outfitters Rules".

The outfitter I'm looking at has a 140" or greater rule in place with a $1000.00 fine for shooting anything smaller. I'm sorry but to be honest I can't tell on the hoof a 130" from a 140" in 1991 it was the guides job to get me in front of animals and "my" choice to shoot or not. To me $1000.00 is a lot of money and I could never have fun with that hanging over my head if I underestimate a animal.

I'm tempted to drive out and just knock on doors this summer and hope to gain some land to hunt. I have 40+ years hunting experience and can scout and hang stands if needed. I'm all for shooting mature deer and have no issues eating a tag. But $500.00 -$1000.00 penalties for a missjudged animal will keep me away.

By: Fuzz
Date:10-Jan-16

$1000 is alot of extra cash to drop on a deer that you may be perfectly happy with but thats pretty typical for Iowa and Illinois. Most outfitters will give hunters a lesson on scoring deer before sending them out. Have a bro in law that is a small outfitter in IL that takes the same clients every year. His rule is "if you wanna kill it, then kill it". Everybody is happy and the same guys come back every year! Good luck!

Fuzz

TradbowBob's embedded Photo

Wide Rack Outfitters in Ohio is bowhunting only, but they have no "minimum. You can find them through Bowhunting Safari Consultants if you are interested.

I was there 2 years ago, and Mike told us we could shoot what we wanted. I got the biggest buck of my life, but I could have taken anything.

TBB

By: DanaC

Just another bad outcome of horn mania.