South Farm 10-Jun-15
Bow Crazy 11-Jun-15
Bow Crazy 11-Jun-15
SouthernILbowhunter 12-Jun-15
Hunt98 18-Jun-15

By: Hunt98
Date:05-Jun-15

Hunt98's MOBILE embedded Photo

I'm not a motor mechanic and it seems like I always have issues with engines. I like to keep things simple when possible. I have an acre of clover.

Would this work (see picture) if I could pull it with my truck to cut clover?

You'd be ultra cool in my books!

You would need to rake it and remove the cut clover.

It will work I used one before I got a bush hog. As said in previous post you will need to rake and pick up the cut clover.

Sickle mowers don't work well for clover plots unless as above you intend to rake and remove what you cut. Everything that you cut , clover, grass, weeds just fall over and can cover up and smother what is left behind. It's not like a rotary mower that chops everything up into small pieces or mulch.

It will work. When my family got their first tractor, they used the horse drawn equipment with it.

Urbncwby- do you actually need someone on the back or can I just hook it up to my truck and go?

If it is in working order that machine will cut without a rider in the seat. Set the sickle bar at the level you want to mow and engage the drive. Since it is ground driven it will slide the cutter bar as soon as you start moving. Remember it is meant to be pulled by a horse, think less tha 3 miles per hour! I would recommend talking to a farmer like stated above. Good luck!

Date:06-Jun-15

Yes it will work without an operator. Key is yo ho slow, like stated above, horse speed. The operator would be to engage/disengage the drive gears and watch for problems, in case it clogs up or you hot something. In decent shape, these are worth a pretty penny too.

Yo ho = to go

Hot= hit Auto correct is killing me this morning.

Sickle cuts are really for putting up hay which clover is good stuff.

Date:07-Jun-15